Group Members

Research scientists:

von RichthofenThomas Madsen, Honorary Professor
Current holding the following positions:
• Honorary Professorial Fellow, School of Biological Sciences, University of Wollongong, Australia;
• Honorary Professorial Fellow, School of Molecular and Microbial Biosciences, University of Sydney, NSW 2006, Australia
Full CV available HERE (PDF)

Research students:

Jaime HeinigerJaime Heiniger
Email: j.heiniger@uq.edu.au
Visiting researcher from A/Prof Robbie Wilsons’ group (The Performance Lab) University of Queensland.
Topic: The ecology and reproductive biology of the northern quoll, Dasyurus hallucatus, on Groote Eylandt. Full CV available HERE (PDF).

Nynke R.Nynke Raven
Email: ravenn@deakin.edu.au
Australian Higher Degree Research Student, co-supervised with Dr Rodrigo Hamede, Prof Marcel Klaassen & Prof Frédéric Thomas.
Topic: The role of immune system in DFTD epidemiology.

 No ImageKriti Ray
Email: Kriti.Ray@Relbio.com
International Higher Degree Research Student, co-supervised with Prof John Donald.
Topic: Reporter assays for Monoclonal antibodies.

Tracey RussellTracey Russell
Email: trus3855@uni.sydney.edu.au
Australian Higher Degree Research Student, co-supervised with Prof Kathy Belov at the University of Sydney, Faculty of Veterinary Science.
Topic: Behavioural traits of Tasmanian Devils.

Geordie Jennings
Email: geordie.jennings@utas.edu.au
Honours student, co-supervised with Dr Rodrigo Hamede (in collaboration with UTAS).
Topic: Seasonal and disease driven dynamics in immune capacity of Tasmanian devils.

Yen Ting Wong
Email: yen.wong@deakin.edu.au
PhD student.
Topic: Study of Inheritance of Alpaca Fibre for Fibre Production Improvement.

Alice Risely
Email: alice.risely@deakin.edu.au
Australian Higher Degree Research Student, co-supervised with Prof Marcel Klaassen.
Topic: Host-pathogen dynamics in long-distance migrants and their role in the global spread of pathogens.

Jay Fitzpatrick
Email: jcfitzpa@deakin.edu.au
Honours student, co-supervised with Dr Rodrigo Hamede.
Topic: The role of the innate immune system in DFTD progression and epidemiology.

 

Canine members:

Our dogs are important members of the group ensuring that we conduct outstanding research… and keep us on track when we start losing it.

Dorka (1995 - 2010)

Dorka (1995 – 2010)

Csibe (2010)

Csibe (2010)